Countries through which people fled: France

George Czuczka was born in Vienna in 1925. He lived with his parents in Karl-Marx-Hof, where he experienced the bombardment of the building during the February Uprising in 1934. After the Anschluss, Czuczka’s father was imprisoned for several months in Dachau and Buchenwald. The family fled to the US after his release in March 1939. Czuczka would return to Europe as a soldier in the US Army and later served in Germany, Austria and India for the US Foreign Service. He lived in Washington, D.C. at the time of his interview. 
John Fischer was born as Hans Fischer in 1909 in Vienna, where he lived in the 20th district and worked in a metalware factory. He was arrested during a visit to the dentist and imprisoned in the Rossauer Barracks, the Gestapo jail on Karajangasse and then in the Landesgericht. After his release he fled with his wife first to France and from there to the USA in February 1940. After his military service he worked as a salesman. At the time of the interview, Fischer lived in Deerfield Beach, Florida.
Gertud Kissiloff was born Gertrud Nachtigall in 1923 in Vienna and grew up in the 2nd district. After her father’s arrest following the “Anschluss”, Kissiloff went to the Gestapo and was able to secure his release. Kissiloff and her brother escaped to Scotland with the Kindertransport in March 1939, followed some months later by their parents. In October 1940, the family emigrated to the USA. Kissiloff studied at the Cooper Union and worked after graduation as a graphic designer. At the time of her interview, she lived in New York.
Frederick Terna was born Friedrich Arthur Taussig in 1923 in the 19th district of Vienna. He moved with his family to Prague in 1927. After the invasion of the Wehrmacht, Terna was thrown out of school and in 1941 was imprisoned by the Gestapo. He was interned in several camps, including Linden bei Deutsch-Brod and the Auschwitz and Kaufering concentration camps. After his liberation, Terna returned to Prague as the only survivor in his family. In 1946, he fled to France and from there to Canada. He moved to New York City in 1952 where he was living as an artist at the time of his interview.

Länder auf der Flucht: Frankreich

George Czuczka wurde 1925 in Wien geboren. Er wohnte mit seinen Eltern im Karl-Marx-Hof, wo er 1934 den Beschuss der Wohnanlage im Zuge der Februarkämpfe miterlebte. Nach dem ‚Anschluss‘ war Czuczkas Vater mehrere Monate in Dachau und Buchenwald inhaftiert. Nach dessen Freilassung flüchtete die Familie im März 1939 in die USA. Czuczka kehrte zunächst als Soldat der U. S. Army nach Europa zurück und war später im Auswärtigen Dienst der USA in Deutschland, Österreich und Indien tätig. Zum Zeitpunkt des Interviews lebte er in Washington, D.C.
John Fischer wurde 1909 als Hans Fischer in Wien geboren, wo er im 20. Wiener Gemeindebezirk lebte und in einer Metallwarenfabrik arbeitete. 1938 wurde er bei einem Zahnarztbesuch von einem Polizisten verhaftet und daraufhin in der Rossauer Kaserne, im Gestapogefängnis Karajangasse und im Landesgericht Wien inhaftiert. Nach seiner Freilassung floh er gemeinsam mit seiner Frau nach Frankreich; von dort aus flohen die beiden im Februar 1940 in die USA. Nach Ableistung seines Militärdienstes arbeitete Fischer als Handelsvertreter. Zum Zeitpunkt des Interviews lebte er in Deerfield Beach, Florida.
Gertrud Kissiloff wurde 1923 als Gertrud Nachtigall in Wien geboren, wo sie im 2. Wiener Gemeindebezirk aufwuchs. Ihr Vater wurde nach dem ‚Anschluss‘ 1938 verhaftet, woraufhin Kissiloff zur Gestapo ging und seine Freilassung erwirken konnte. Im März 1939 flüchtete Kissiloff gemeinsam mit ihrem Bruder mit einem Kindertransport nach Schottland. Ihre Eltern folgten ihnen einige Monate später nach und im Oktober 1940 emigrierte die Familie in die USA. Kissiloff studierte an der Cooper Union und arbeitete nach ihrem Abschluss als Grafikerin. Zum Zeitpunkt des Interviews lebte sie in New York City.
Frederick Terna wurde 1923 als Friedrich Arthur Taussig im 19. Wiener Gemeindebezirk geboren. 1927 zog er mit seiner Familie nach Prag. Nach dem Einmarsch der Wehrmacht wurde Terna aus der Schule geworfen, 1941 von der Gestapo verhaftet und unter anderem in Linden bei Deutsch-Brod, im KZ Auschwitz und im KZ Kaufering interniert. Nach seiner Befreiung kehrte Terna als einziger Überlebender seiner Familie nach Prag zurück. 1946 flüchtete er nach Frankreich, danach nach Kanada. Von dort ging er 1952 nach New York City, wo er zum Zeitpunkt des Interviews als Maler lebte.