Countries through which people fled: Great Britain

Felicia Breitner was born in the 16th distict of Vienna in 1921. At the time of the Anschluss she was still in high school. Her brother and her father were able to flee to Shanghai, while she was able to escape to England in 1939 to join her sister who had already fled. Her mother stayed behind and died in Vienna. Many of her family did not survive the Holocaust. Breitner trained as a nurse and a midwife, working afterwards in healthcare. She later emigrated from England to Israel, where she lives today.
Peter Elmer was born in Vienna as Peter Epstein in 1923 and grew up in Vienna’s 13th district, where he went to primary school. At the end of 1937 he was sent to a boarding school in England and stayed there until his family emigrated at the end of 1938. They then fled to the USA via Switzerland and London, arriving in New York in January 1939. Elmer visited a private school and then the University of Wisconsin for a short time before military service with the US Army in Europe. He was later active in the textile industry in New York City where he continues to live today.
Trudy Jeremias was born Trude Epstein in 1925 and grew up and went to school in Vienna’s 13th district. She emigrated to the USA with her parents and her brother Peter in December 1938 via Switzerland and London. After working as a ground stewardess and in several other jobs, Jeremias became a jewelry designer like her mother, who was a well-known interior designer and artist. She returned to Vienna for a short period in the late 1950s before returning to New York, where she lives today.

Länder auf der Flucht: Großbritannien

Felicia Breitner wurde 1921 im 16. Wiener Gemeindebezirk geboren. Zur Zeit des ‚Anschlusses‘ besuchte sie ein Realgymnasium. Während ihr Vater und ihr Bruder nach Shanghai fliehen konnten, gelang ihr 1939 die Flucht nach England, wohin bereits ihre Schwester geflohen war. Ihre zurückgelassene Mutter starb in Wien, zahlreiche ihrer Verwandten überlebten den Holocaust nicht. Breitner ließ sich zur Krankenschwester und dann zur Hebamme ausbilden und war danach im Gesundheitswesen tätig. Von England aus ging sie später nach Israel, wo sie bis heute lebt.
Peter Elmer wurde 1923 als Peter Epstein in Wien geboren und wuchs im 13. Wiener Gemeindebezirk auf, wo er die Volksschule besuchte. Ende 1937 wurde er nach England in ein Internat geschickt und blieb dort bis zur Emigration seiner Familie Ende 1938. Diese flüchtete über die Schweiz und London in die USA, wo sie im Januar 1939 in New York ankam. Elmer besuchte hier eine Privatschule sowie kurzzeitig die University of Wisconsin, bevor er seinen Militärdienst bei der U.S. Army in Europa absolvierte. Später war er in der Textilbranche in New York City tätig, wo er auch heute noch lebt.
Trudy Jeremias wurde 1925 als Trude Epstein geboren und wuchs im 13. Wiener Gemeindebezirk auf, wo sie auch zur Schule ging. Sie emigrierte mit ihren Eltern und ihrem Bruder Peter im Dezember 1938 über die Schweiz und London in die USA. Nach ihrer Tätigkeit als Bodenstewardess sowie einigen anderen Jobs, wurde Jeremias, wie ihre Mutter, die eine bekannte Innendekorateurin und Künstlerin war, Schmuckdesignerin. Nach einer kurzzeitigen Rückkehr nach Wien Ende der 1950er-Jahre zog Trudy Jeremias zurück nach New York, wo sie bis heute lebt.