Austrian Heritage Collection

The Austrian Heritage Collection (AHC) at the Leo Baeck Institute New York (LBI NY) is one of the largest collections relating to the Austrian-Jewish emigration to the USA. The project was initiated in 1996 as a cooperation between the Leo Baeck Institute New York, the Verein GEDENKDIENST and the Austrian Cultural Forum New York (ACFNY)

 

The documentation of Jewish-Austrian Life Stories

The AHC aims to document the life stories of Austrian Jews who were forced to emigrate to the USA during the National Socialist period or immediately afterwards and who then started a new life there. In 1938 there were around 200,000 Jewish people living in Austria, between 120,000 and 150,000 were able to emigrate. 30,000 people reached the USA – often via other countries – and 15,000 were able to reach Israel.

Young Austrian volunteers, trained by the Verein GEDENKDIENST and sent for a year to the LBI NY as part of their alternative civil service (an alternative to military service) documented the life stories of these Austrian-Jewish émigrés and Holocaust survivors in the USA. Along with carrying out interviews, documents such as letters, diaries, memoirs and photographs were also collected and archived. A particular emphasis was placed on collecting the life stories of “ordinary people”, those whose experiences have been ignored in favour of the stories of the persecution, displacement and emigration of more prominent people.

The interviews pay special attention to life in Austria, persecution and fleeing, integration and acculturation in the USA, the interviewee’s identity and their attitude and feelings towards Austria today.

Since 1996, the LBI NY has evaluated over 4000 questionnaires and carried out almost 600 interviews. The relationships that were built up between the interviewees and the young Austrian volunteers developed into personal friendships that in many cases continue to today.

 

The Leo Baeck Institute

The Leo Baeck Institute was founded in 1955 by German-speaking Jewish immigrants. The aim of the founders was to preserve the memory of Jewish life and culture in Germany and Austria that had largely been decimated by National Socialism. There are branches of the institute in London, Jerusalem and New York. After the Second World War, the Leo Baeck Institute developed into the leading research institute on German-speaking Judaism, another reason why the Austrian Heritage Collection is housed at the LBI NY.

The Leo Baeck Institute New York is made up of an archive, an art collection and a library with over 70,000 predominantly German-language books. 

 

The Austrian Heritage Collection in Israel

In 2012, the Austrian Heritage Collection was expanded to include Israel and to document the history of Austrian Jews living there, something which had, until then, received very little attention. The AHC is based at the Leo Baeck Institute Jerusalem (LBI Jerusalem).

Around 100 interviews with Austrian Jews have been carried out since 2012 as part of the project and related documents have been collected.

 

The Austrian Heritage Collection: One of the largest collections relating to Austrian-Jewish Emigration to the USA and Israel

The collection of the Austrian Heritage Collection in the USA and Israel currently encompasses the life stories of 700 people. This makes the AHC not only one of the largest collections about the history of Austrian-Jewish emigration to the USA and Israel, but also one of the largest collections of exile history generally.

 

Further Information

Austrian Cultural Forum: http://www.acfny.org

Leo Baeck Institute New York: http://www.lbi.org

Leo Baeck Institute Jerusalem: http://www.leobaeck.org

Verein GEDENKDIENST: http://www.gedenkdienst.at

Austrian Heritage Collection

Die Austrian Heritage Collection (AHC) am Leo Baeck Institut New York (LBI NY) stellt eine der größten Sammlungen zur Geschichte der österreichisch-jüdischen Emigration in die USA dar. Sie wurde 1996 in Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Leo Baeck Institut New York, dem Verein GEDENKDIENST und dem Austrian Cultural Forum New York (ACFNY) initiiert.

 

Dokumentation von jüdisch-österreichischen Lebensgeschichten

Die AHC verfolgt das Ziel, die Lebensgeschichten von österreichischen Jüdinnen und Juden zu dokumentieren, die während der NS-Zeit oder danach in die USA emigrieren mussten und sich dazu gezwungen sahen, sich dort eine neue Existenz aufzubauen. 1938 lebten rund 200.000 Jüdinnen und Juden in Österreich, 120.000 bis 150.000 von ihnen konnten emigrieren. 30.000 kamen – oft auf Umwegen über andere Länder – in die USA, etwa 15.000 gelang die Emigration nach Israel.

Junge österreichische Freiwillige, die vom Verein GEDENKDIENST ausgebildet und im Rahmen eines Zivilersatzdienstes für ein Jahr an das LBI NY entsendet werden, dokumentieren die Lebensgeschichten von diesen österreich-jüdischen Emigrantinnen und Emigranten und Holocaust-Überlebenden in den USA. Dabei werden Interviews geführt sowie lebensgeschichtliche Dokumente wie Briefe, Tagebücher, Memoiren und Fotos gesammelt und archiviert. Besonderen Wert wird auf die Sammlung und Dokumentation der Lebensgeschichten ‚kleiner Leute‘ gelegt, die in Erzählungen über Verfolgung, Vertreibung und Emigration meist im Schatten prominenter Emigrantinnen und Emigranten stehen.

In den Interviews kommt Fragen nach dem Leben in Österreich, der Verfolgung und Flucht, der Integration und Akkulturation in den USA, der Identität sowie dem heutigem Verhältnis zu Österreich besondere Aufmerksamkeit zu.

Seit 1996 wurden am LBI NY über 4.000 Fragebögen ausgewertet und knapp 600 Interviews geführt. Zwischen vielen Emigrantinnen und Emigranten und den aus Österreich entsandten Freiwilligen hat sich über die Interviews hinaus ein persönlicher Kontakt entwickelt, der in vielen Fällen bis heute besteht.

 

Das Leo Baeck Institut

Das Leo Baeck Institut wurde 1955 von deutschsprachigen jüdischen Emigrantinnen und Emigranten gegründet. Das Ziel der Initiatoren war es, das Andenken an das in Deutschland und Österreich durch den Nationalsozialismus weitgehend vernichtete Judentum zu bewahren. Es besitzt Zweigstellen in London, Jerusalem und New York. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg entwickelte sich das Leo Baeck Institut zur weltweit führenden Forschungsinstitution zur Geschichte des deutschsprachigen Judentums. Aus diesem Grund wurde die Austrian Heritage Collection auch am LBI NY angesiedelt.

Das Leo Baeck Institut New York besteht aus einem Archiv, einer Kunstsammlung und einer Bibliothek mit mittlerweile über 70.000 – vorwiegend in deutscher Sprache verfassten – Büchern.

 

Austrian Heritage Collection in Israel

Im Jahr 2012 wurde die Austrian Heritage Collection auf Israel ausgeweitet, um die bis zum heutigen Zeitpunkt nur spärlich erforschte Geschichte dortiger österreichischer Jüdinnen und Juden zu dokumentieren. Die AHC ist am Leo Baeck Institut Jerusalem (LBI Jerusalem) angesiedelt.

Seit 2012 wurden im Rahmen des Projekts rund 100 lebensgeschichtliche Interviews mit österreichischen Jüdinnen und Juden geführt und dazugehörige lebensgeschichtliche Materialien gesammelt.

 

Austrian Heritage Collection: eine der größten Sammlungen zur österreichisch-jüdischen Emigration in die USA und nach Israel

Zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt umfassen die Bestände der Austrian Heritage Collection in den USA und in Israel also über 700 Lebensgeschichten. Das macht die AHC nicht nur zur einer der größten Sammlungen zur Geschichte der österreichisch-jüdischen Emigration in die USA und nach Israel, sondern darüber hinaus auch zu einer der größten Sammlungen zu Exilgeschichte überhaupt.

 

Weiterführende Informationen

Austrian Cultural Forum: http://www.acfny.org

Leo Baeck Institut New York: http://www.lbi.org

Leo Baeck Institut Jerusalem: http://www.leobaeck.org

Verein GEDENKDIENST: http://www.gedenkdienst.at